There are six small African wild cat species. We have separated the African subspecies of the wide-ranging Wildcat Felis silvestris into a separate fact sheet. There is much debate, with no conclusions, about how to classify the Wildcat but for now Felis silvestris lybica is still called a subspecies. While the Jungle or Reed cat is found in Egypt, the majority of their range is in Asia.

Click on the names beneath the photos to read our African Cats fact sheets.

Small Cats of Africa

African Golden CatBlack-footed CatCaracal
Sand CatServalAfrican Wildcat

Big Cats of Africa


See Also:

Jungle Cat Fact Sheet

Asiatic Cheetah Fact Sheet

Gir Lion Fact Sheet

Talk to Us!